Show your mathematics to the world!

Scary index theory

Index TheoryThis board was found in Michael Singer‘s office in Edinburgh.  He tells me that it was started by a student coming to him saying that they were scared of Index Theory – an understandable emotion in my opinion. The Atiyah-Singer index theorem is a powerful result which relates topological properties of a manifold with its analytical and geometric properties. [For more explanation, you could try reading my other blog post on this: http://haggisthesheep.wordpress.com/2010/09/20/heroes-of-topology/.%5D  Using the theorem, Michael Singer was then able to explain a result to the student using analysis that had previously only been understood via geometry and algebra.

One response

  1. Patrick

    This looks like me. I didn’t say I was scared of Index Theory – perhaps he could just see it in my eyes.

    June 16, 2012 at 8:30 am

Leave a Reply

